Winter 2023 | Volume 16, Number 1
Baylor School of Education Impact logo

Preparing Leaders, Impacting the World, Shaping the Future


  • Engaged in Learning
  • National Teacher of the Year
  • The SOE First-Year Experience
  • Alum Hosting Award-Winning Podcast
  • Expert Investment Advice

Winter 2023


This issue of Impact features multiple accolades for faculty, alumni, students, staff, and programs. Frankly, that is nothing new, but something does stand out about the recent honors.


A decade of Baylor's iEngage civics education program has brought accolades, expansion, and research that confirms its effectiveness in teaching students how to be good citizens.


Dr. Karon LeCompte and her colleagues in social studies education in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction have published extensive research about the effectiveness of iEngage.


Baylor elementary education graduate Emily Blackwell, BSEd ’22, was named National Student Teacher of the Year, the second time recently that a Baylor graduate has been honored.


The School of Education’s First-Year Experience (FYE) program goes above and beyond to engage incoming students and ensure they feel a connection to Baylor and to their major.


Baylor SOE welcomed four new faculty members who arrived in the fall semester in each of the SOE's three departments, including a new chair for Educational Leadership.


Baylor University and the School of Education (SOE) and its programs have received recent attention through national rankings and other prestigious awards.


Now superintendent of Morgan ISD, Dr. John Bullion hosts a podcast on special education that has won the Barbara Jordan Media Award twice in a row.

TH-Bullion Video-200

Watch the video: Dr. Bullion discusses his career in special education, what the Baylor EdD meant to him, and all about his award-winning podcast.


Learn about faculty accomplishments from every department, an outstanding staff award, and an important program highlight for School Psychology.

TH-Fa22-Giving Moreheads-200

David Morehead, Baylor's Chief Investment Officer, and his wife, Sara, believe that supporting Christians in education is a great investment opportunity.


Three School of Education faculty faculty members were honored as Outstanding Faculty Awards: Dr. Jessica Akers, Dr. Tonya Davis, and Dr. Jon Eckert.