NEWS BRIEFS: Accolades and Recognition

January 3, 2023


The Baylor School of Education’s PhD program in School Psychology has earned accreditation on contingency from the American Psychological Association (APA), with the contingency based on the program’s relative newness. Baylor anticipates its first program finishers in 2023 and will be eligible for full accreditation in 2025. Baylor’s PhD in School Psychology is a five-year program in the Department of Educational Psychology, and the final year of study consists of a paid internship.


Dr. Nicholas Benson

, associate professor and director of the PhD program in School Psychology, was inducted into the national Society for the Study of School Psychology. Membership is restricted to 150 renowned scholars and represents a significant academic achievement. Benson is a Texas licensed psychologist, licensed specialist in school psychology, and a nationally certified School Psychologist. Benson’s research interests focus on psychological and educational assessment, with emphasis on examining the validity of interpretations and uses of test scores.

Dr. Todd Kettler

Dr. Todd Kettler, associate professor and chair of the Department of Educational Psychology, has been accepted as a Fellow of the International Society for the Study of Creativity and Innovation.

Fellow is the highest category of membership and is designated for scholars who have made “significant impact on the field”; the status grants Fellows the opportunity to propose and lead ISSCI initiatives.


Dr. Sandi Cooper

Dr. Sandi Cooper, professor in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, was selected as the 2022 recipient of the E. Glenadine Gibb Achievement Award. The award honors a member of the Texas Council for Teachers of Mathematics for contributions to the improvement of mathematics education at the state and national levels. Cooper’s Baylor colleagues lauded her impact in the field, noting, “She is an outstanding colleague and offers significant leadership for the entire mathematics education community. She is an exemplary scholar, teacher, and leader.”

Dr. Marshall Magnusen

Dr. Marshall Magnusen, associate professor of sport management in the Department of Educational Leadership, received the Research Fellow Award from the Applied Sport Management Association (ASMA). This award recognizes scholars who have demonstrated a commitment to ASMA and its vision and who have a distinguished record of sport management research and associated scholarly contributions to the organization. Magnusen’s primary areas of scholarship are organizational behavior and human resource management.

Dr. Kelly Johnston

Dr. Kelly Johnston, assistant professor in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, received the 2022 Innovation in Teaching and Learning Award, presented by EDICUT, the Education Deans of Independent Colleges and Universities, at the annual conference of the Consortium of State Organizations for Texas Teacher Education. Earlier in the year, Johnston was also elected to the Board of Directors of the Texas Association of Literacy Educators.


Dr. Nick Werse and President Livingstone

Baylor University honored Dr. Nick Werse with an Outstanding Staff Award for 2022. Werse is director of the Department of Curriculum & Instruction’s EdD Writing Center, which serves hundreds of students in the SOE’s online EdD in Learning and Organizational Change (EdD-LOC). The center’s staff of seven offers comprehensive support, including writing development support, writing webinars, writing resources for faculty, course development recommendations, dissertation formatting support, and individualized student writing consultations.
Baylor colleagues and EdD-LOC students praised Werse’s broad expertise in academic writing, his spirit of encouragement, and his dedication to Baylor.
Dr. Werse received the award from Baylor President Dr. Linda Livingstone.