Spring 2023 | Volume 16, Number 2
Baylor School of Education Impact logo

Preparing Leaders, Impacting the World, Shaping the Future


  • A Wider Welcome
  • Alumni Profile: Majka Woods
  • Celebrating Great Teaching
  • Spring Events in the SOE
  • Back at Home

Spring 2023

Erik Carter

The School of Education anticipates an expansion of disability research and community impact with the arrival of Endowed Chair Dr. Erik Carter, who brings an impactful research record.

Dean Shanna Hagan-Burke

The motto of Baylor University — Pro Ecclesia, Pro Texana — is the School's guiding principle in identifying new faculty and scholarly pursuits.


The School of Education’s Department of Educational Leadership graduated its first cohort in a new master’s program, the MA in School Leadership, in December 2022.


Faculty, alumni, and graduate students are making an impact and being recognized for leadership and research, including a prestigious early career award for Dr. Phil Nichols.

Dr. Hollylynne Lee

As the Cherry Award recipient, Dr. Hollylynne Lee spent the spring semester in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, teaching courses and delivering presentations on campus and beyond.

Dr. Majka Woods

As Vice Dean of Academic Affairs at John Sealy School of Medicine, University of Texas Medical Branch Galveston, Dr. Majka Woods is putting three Baylor degrees to good use.

Dr. Hollylynne Lee

Dr. Hollylynne Lee, Baylor Cherry Award recipient, has created free online professional development about mathematics education. You can also view Dr. Lee's Baylor lectures here.


Event highlights from the spring semester in the School of Education included a visit from alumna Mary Woodard, president of the Texas Library Association, plus student research, job fair, and more.

Genesis Santos

As 10-year-old Genesis Santos sat in her homeroom desk at Bell’s Hill Elementary, she had no idea where her future career would lead her — back to Bell's Hill but on the other side of the desk.

SPR-23-TH-New Faculty

Baylor SOE welcomed four new faculty members who arrived in the spring semester, including an endowed chair who also serves as executive director of the BCDD.