News Briefs

Spring 2024

May 30, 2024

National Honors for Faculty

Dr. Phil Nichols

Dr. Philip Nichols, associate professor in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, received a national award from the Initiative for Literacy in a Digital Age. The Divergent Award for Excellence in Literacy in a Digital Age Research recognizes the contributions of educators and scholars studying 21st century literacies. Nichols’ research examines how science and technology impact the teaching of literacy and the downstream effects on public education and human flourishing.

Dr. Doug Rogers

Dr. Doug Rogers received the 2023 Jason Kinsey Award from NAPDS, the National Association of Professional Development Schools (now NASUP, the National Association for School-University Partnerships), which honors an individual who advanced the mission of the organization in a significant and enduring way. Rogers served as president of NAPDS in 2017-18, and was instrumental in the organization’s move to independence in 2015. During his service, Rogers launched innovative programs and spearheaded organizational efforts in conference planning, web development, and membership software, among others.

Dr. Trena Wilkerson

Dr. Trena Wilkerson, professor and interim chair of the Department of Curriculum & Instruction, received the 2024 Louise Hay Award from the Association for Women in Mathematics. The award recognizes outstanding achievements in mathematics education.

In bestowing this national honor, the association praised Wilkerson for her leadership in mathematics education, her transformational teaching and mentorship, and her global initiatives and programs.

A notable highlight of Wilkerson’s leadership is her service as president of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) from 2020-2022 and membership on its Board of Directors. She is a prolific researcher and has broadened her reach through international leadership in China, Costa Rica, Australia, and beyond.

Baylor Research Awards

Dr. Karon LeCompte

Dr. Karon LeCompte, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, received the 2023 Baylor Centennial Professors Award, along with an award from the Baylor Libraries — the Baylor Fundamentals of Data Research Fellowship, also for research support. LeCompte used both awards to further her research in social studies education, particularly civics education through Baylor’s iEngage program, a weeklong summer camp which she co-founded. The iEngage program has expanded to other universities and been implemented in school-based settings.

Annmarie Crum

Dr. Annmarie Crum, a December 2022 graduate of the EdD Learning and Organizational Change online program at Baylor University, was awarded Baylor University’s 2023 Outstanding Dissertation Award for her work exploring inequities in STEM education. Her dissertation is titled, “An Intersectional Exploration of the STEM-Related Expectancy-Value Beliefs of Young Women of Color: A Comparative Case Study.” Crum has 25 years of experience teaching elementary-level core subjects in the New Jersey Public School System, where she is currently teaching second-grade students.

Dissertation Honors for EdD in Learning & Organizational Change

Alicia Briancon

Dr. Alicia Briancon, a graduate from the Baylor School of Education’s online EdD in Learning and Organizational Change and instructor at College of Southern Nevada (CSN), a community college in Clark County, received the Outstanding Research Paper Award for the Southeastern Universities Graduate Research Symposium. Her winning paper and research was inspired by her own interactions with students and explored the relational gap between faculty and students in higher education. “Faculty-student relationships matter, especially for community college students,” Briancon said.